It’s Alive!

The yeasties are blooming!

IMG_4460

The above picture is my starter this afternoon after three days of flour and water feedings.

I have very little (no) experience in the sourdough business, but the blogs and common sense tell me that when it comes to capturing wild yeast bubbles are good news.  The bubbles are appearing quickly after a good strong stir and the mixture is giving off a not totally unpleasant sour vinegaresque smell. Hopefully I’m cultivating a nice little starter that will work.

According to the starter recipe I used (this one) tomorrow my starter should be in full bloom and ready for maintenance and use.

Coincidentally, but conveniently, tomorrow will be Sunday.  This seems like a good omen somehow.  I’d love to get into the habit of baking a fresh loaf every Sunday for the week ahead.

Now to scout out easy looking recipes for my first bread attempt!

 

 

Leave a Reply

